Should You Worry About An Earthquake If You’re Living In NCR?

Did you know that The National Capital Region (NCR) ranks 4th in India’s map of seismic zones. A ranking of 4 means a region is a high damage risk zone.

Your Worries Are The Government's Worry Too

It seems like the government also recognises this threat. And we're thrilled to hear that the Haryana government is gifting Delhi-NCR its first earthquake-warning system, choosing to install the German-made Early Earthquake Warning and Security System in Gurgaon.

How Does The System Work?

Earthquakes usually have 2 stages – a primary wave which is followed by a devastating second wave. The earthquake-warning system is installed on a building’s foundation pillars and set to a selected threshold level of intensity. A Master and Sub Master device is installed to measure vibrations and if the vibration from the primary wave crosses a certain limit, it sets off an alarm that a dangerous second wave is on its way.

Earthquake signal

What Happens Once The Alarm Sounds?

There is usually a 30-second gap before the second wave of the earthquake strikes. In that time, the Energy Management System or EMS is activated automatically. It shuts off gas supplies, electricity and water systems to minimize damage to infrastructure and life. The system is also designed to turn off elevators and sensitive machinery while opening safety doors and gates. The alarm also gives people some time to rush out of their homes and into the open.

Where Will It Be Installed?

The Earthquake-warning system is currently setup at the Haryana Institute of Public Administration, but the Haryana government will soon be starting a campaign to get individuals, corporates, developers and other agencies to adopt this technology in their buildings. The device costs about Rs 38 lakhs to purchase and install.


Web Editor : Nikhil Narayan Sivadas, NDTV


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *